Our Committee

The Melbourne Chargers is managed by a committee of nine volunteers, elected by club members at the Annual General Meeting and led by the President. The committee is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the club and appointing our coaching and management team in addition to fundraising, events and other duties. The coaching and management team is responsible forrugby operations and make operational decisions at arm’s length from the committee.

The club committee meets from time to time (usually monthly) and distributes a summary of outcomes from each meeting to all members.

You can contact the committee using at committee@melbournechargers.org, or you can email any member directly.


President - Chris Pezet

Chris is the primary spokesperson for the Melbourne Chargers, representing the club to the wider community. Chris chairs the committee and is responsible for ensuring that the club’s priorities are in line with the wishes of the membership. Email: chris@melbournechargers.org

Vice-President - Scott Davis

Scott supports the President in managing the committee. Scott leads on operations, managing the committee’s relationship with our coaches and team managers. Scott also leads on operations and logistics for our domestic season and contributes to fundraising and events planning. Email: scott@melbournechargers.org

Secretary - Derryn Pert

Derryn is responsible for club record-keeping and memberships. The Secretary also ensures that the club’s activities are in accordance with both the rules of the association, and Victoria’s laws. Derryn also supports organising fundraising and social events and LGBT community engagement. Email: derryn@melbournechargers.org

Treasurer - Stephen Allan

Stephen is primarily responsible for financial administration, ensuring that the club’s accounts are correct and that all income and expenditure is recorded and reported on regularly. Additionally, Stephen is the custodian and manager of the Warwick Ramsden Player Support Fund. Email: stephen@melbournechargers.org

General Committee - Martin Commons, John Gabriel, Phil Anderson, Dan MacPherson, Matthew Littlejohn

Martin Commons is the chair of the Bingham tour subcommittee and is primarily overseeing much of the logistical and organisational work to get the team and supporters to Rome in Italy in 2024. Martin is supporting the President on a values and strategy refresh to serve the club into the future. Email: martin@melbournechargers.org

John Gabriel is one of the Chargers two Player Liaisons. He is assisting with the Bingham tour subcommittee and with sponsorship, particularly identifying and applying for grants to support the Chargers' mission. He's also assisting Martin on liaising with IGR and other IGR teams. Email: john@melbournechargers.org

Phil Anderson is responsible for the Chargers website, Calendar and Club social events including our upcoming In The Flesh extravaganza. As well as working with other inclusive sports clubs to promote stronger sporting community relationships Email: phil@melbournechargers.org

Dan MacPherson role is to help out at club activities and assist the committee in its many projects. Daniel is keen to ensure the club remains a welcoming place, especially for beginners.Email: dan.melbournechargers.org

Matthew Littlejohn is one of the Chargers two Player Liaisons. He is the Charger’s contact for New Player Support, and is usually one of the first people you’ll hear from if you’re interested in playing. Matt also works with the committee on their fundraising projects, and co-leads the organisation of our famous In The Flesh extravaganza. Email: matthew.littlejohn@melbournechargers.org